Active Child – “You Are All I See” Album Stream

The mornings this week have been so sweetly delicate: you can’t help but hang on to those fleeting days of summer, but feeling that nice taste of the crisp fall to come, it’s oh so nice. Every morning this week I’ve woken up in this bittersweet limbo stage looking for something to listen to that’s not going to disrupt that tranquility but at the same time, not lull me into hibernation: not just yet.

Active Child was the exact remedy I had been looking for. His album You Are All I See, released yesterday, via Vagrant is a haunting orchestrated love ballad of awesomeness. His chilling falsetto harmonies float within his chamber harpsichord tones, all over a subtle dubstep drive. Pat Grossi, the grown-up behind “Active Child”, utilizes precise synthesizing to pair with his bellow-ous vocals that roll over the subterranean layers ever-so-gently.

This album is great to settle into that transition: that place where the warm collides with the cool and creates an abruptly evolving burst of tranquility. You Are All I See is great to listen to on long-term DeLorean rides, day-trips to Jupiter and picnics on a rainy day in Zagreb.

Stream the entire gorgeous album below, while reading Pat Grossi’s track-by-track context to each one of his songs: shed light on what the hell was going on when he wrote these orchestrations.

Continue reading

The Rapture – “In the Grace of Your Love” Album Stream

Out of all the hyped mixtapes, tracks, and streams released today, getting to hear The Rapture’s forthcoming album In the Grace of Your Love in its entirety was by far the most rewarding crappy little notification i got today. The album stream, follows the same formula as their single “How Deep is Your Love?” in that it rocks out in every flavor: looking to old gospel influences with pounding organs, handclaps and anthematic vocals driving this dance of a good time from the beginning to the end. So quality. It’s one of those day-makers. Stream the entire album below through The White Out Sessions, courtesy of DFA.

In the Grace of Your Love will be out September 9 via DFA and it’s about fucking time we can add some more The Rapture to our repertoire. Also check out their fist pumping single “How Deep is Your Love?” below I posted on another fantastic blog freakoutmusic, of my good friend Peter’s: v4L, yes? (it means vol 4 life. it’s so close to football time in TN!)

Mister Heavenly – Out of Love

“Mister Heavenly… is a trio of men who love dogs.”

This is my idea of a supergroup: Man Man, Islands/The Unicorns, and Modest Mouse. Nick Thorburn (Islands/Unicorns), Ryan Kattner (Man Man) and Joe Plummer (Modest Mouse) create this exuberant fusion of the three rockin’ groups sounds’ to create what they call “doom-wop” (but don’t hone in too much on that genre name: not their intention).

The three began collaborating beginning when Man Man and Modest Mouse consistently toured together and ran into the near-expiring Unicorns/near-inspiring Islands (somewhere in that range, they believe) and realized Nick and Ryan’s polar opposite voices go as spectacularly together as Nutella and cream cheese. Ultimately their sounds came together to combine the experimental indie rock/pop sounds with 50s doo-wop influences to create: “doom-wop”. Mister Heavenly also expresses their eager interest in using their music in a theatrical score for a teen romantic comedy which would sound like a “post-apocalyptic Valley Girl meets the American Graffiti soundtrack.” Sounds damn good to me.

I’m oh so happy these guys met up and decided to create something for our liking. Out of Love is set to release August 16, via Sub Pop and will have us all snapping our fingers in an agitated bliss.

Stream the entire album Out of Love at Paste

snag for keeps (for previewing purposes of course): Mister Heavenly – Out of Love

or pre-order the real deal$ @ Sub Pop

Jay-Z & Kanye West – Watch the Throne: Album Stream

Watch the Throne has finally arrived, but there’s no way this could be as good as all the hype that’s been shoved down our throat every which way for the last however many grueling months. at first listen I’m still ambivalent: I can’t help but enjoy hearing some new Kanye beats with some Jay-Z and Kanye lyrics over them, but nothing blows my mind. and yes, anti-climax comes into play here.

see for yourself: stream whole album below or snag it for keeps.

Stream Watch the Throne Here (via PMA)

snag it (download it for free): Jay-Z & Kanye West – Watch Throne


Buy it @ Itunes

Jay-Z & Kanye West – Watch The Throne Tracklist

1. No Church In The Wild f. Frank Ocean (prod. Kanye West, Mike Dean & Ken Lewis)
2. Lift Off f. Beyoncé (prod. Kanye West, Mike Dean, Jeff Bhasker, Q-Tip & Don Jazzy; Additional Vocals by Seal, Mr Hudson, Don Jazzy, Bankulli & Ricardo Louis)
3. Ni**as In Paris (prod. Hit-Boy)
4. Otis f. Otis Redding (prod. Kanye West)
5. Gotta Have It (prod. The Neptunes)
6. New Day (prod. The RZA)
7. That’s My Bi**h (prod. Q-Tip & Kanye West)
8. Who Gon’ Stop Me (prod. Sham “Sak Pase” Joseph & Kanye West)
9. Murder To Excellence (prod. Swizz Beatz & Symbolyc One)
10. Welcome To The Jungle (prod. Swizz Beatz)
11. Made In America f. Frank Ocean (prod. Sham “Sak Pase” Joseph)
12. Why I Love You f. Mr Hudson (prod. Mike Dean & Kanye West)
13. Illest Motherf*cker Alive (prod. Southside & Kanye West) *
14. H*A*M (prod. Lex Luger & Kanye West) *
15. Primetime (prod. No I.D.) *
16. The Joy f. Curtis Mayfield (prod. Pete Rock & Kanye West) *
* – Bonus Tracks